

FACULTY COUNCIL SCHULICH SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

A regular meeting of the Schulich Faculty Council for the 2021-22 academic year will be held remotely via Zoom on Friday February 4th 2022 from 12:00pm – 1:30pm.

AGENDA

		Page
1.	Welcome & Chair's Remarks	
2.	Dean's Remarks (Recording)	
3.	PhD/GBC/UBS Updates	

- **4.** Budget Consultation Session Fall-Winter 2021-22 (President & Vice-Chancellor Rhonda 2-41 Lenton, Provost & Vice-President Academic Lisa Philipps, and Vice-President Finance & Administration Carol McAulay) (12:30pm 1:15pm)
- 5. Adjournment

CONSENT AGENDA

A consent agenda item is deemed to be approved unless, at any moment before or during the meeting, a member of the Faculty Council of the Schulich School of Business advises the chair of his or her request to debate it.

		Page
1.	Communications	3
	a) For Information: Senate Synopses (2021.11.25, 2021.12.16)	
2.	EMBA Program Committee	
	a) Course Change	
	1. EMBA 6620 4.0 Healthcare Strategy (credit value)	42-55
	b) New Course Proposals	
	1. EMBA 6255 2.0 Innovation in the Social-Digital Era	56-64
	2. EMBA 6285 2.0 Value Creation and Capture in Healthcare	65-78
	3. EMBA 6295 1.0 Healthcare's Global Marketplace	79-86
	4. EMBA 6325 2.0 Value Creation in Biopharmaceuticals	87-102
3.	Minutes of the Last Meeting: 2021.12.10	103-106

Upcoming Meeting Dates for 2021-2022:

Schulich Executive Committee:	Schulich Faculty Council:
Friday February 25, 2022	Friday, March 11, 2022
Friday April 8, 2022	Friday, April 22, 2022



FACULTY COUNCIL SCHULICH SCHOOL OF BUSINESS MINUTES OF MEETING

A regular meeting of the Schulich Faculty Council for the 2021-2022 academic year was held on Friday February 4, 2022 at 12:00pm via Zoom.

In Attendance:

Chair: C. Graham Secretary: E. Rush Assistant: L. Da Silva

Voting Members of Faculty Council Present:

Senior Admin	D. Zwick, M. Annisette, K. Kanagaretnam, D. Matten, T. Noseworthy			
ACTG	M. Bamber, A. Mawani, L. Thorne, V. Trivedi			
ARTM	T. McQueen, K. Rogers			
ECON	A. Coutts, I. Henriques, P. Sadorsky, B. Wolf (ret.)			
ENTR				
FINE	M. Cao, P. Foroughi, M. Kamstra, M. Milevsky, L. Ng, P. Shum Nolan, A. Rzeznik, Y. Tian			
MKTG	A. Campbell, P. Darke, E. Fischer, M. Giesler, A. Joshi, G. Packard, E. Veresiu			
ORGS	C. Bell, I. Hideg, W. Shen, K. Tasa			
OMIS	A. Diamant, D. Johnston, M. Levesque, J. Rungtusanatham, D. Oppong-Tawiah			
PLCY	P. Aulakh, M. Kipping, C. McMillan, T. Peridis, W. Sheremata, S. Weiss			
PROP	J. Clayton, J. McKellar (ret.)			
SUST	C. Cho, G. Kistruck, M. Valente OTHER: X. Li (Lib)			
Voting CPM's	Voting CPM's & Director of 601 I. Holzinger, A. Mustapha, H. Sinker			
Student Reps	Student Reps A. Kakkar (UBS), J. Lam (PhD), T. Rashid (GBC), H. Zhu (GBC)			

Voting Members of Faculty Council Absent/Regrets:

T. Anand (UBS)	V. Dhingra	R. Karambayya (ret.)	R. McClean (ret.)	H. Rosin (Ret.)
E. Auster	D. Dimick (ret.)	A. Kecskes	N. Mead	G. Saxton
KH. Bae	M. Dong	H. Kim	G. Morgan (ret.)	J. Tan
T. Beechy (ret.)	B. Eberlein	M. Kristal	N. Nasseri (UBS)	M. Voronov
R. Belk	J. Everett	Y. Larkin	D. Neu	E. Westney (ret.)
A. Bhanich-Supapol	M. Farjoun	F. Lazar	C. Oliver (ret.)	L. Wright (ret.)
I. Bicer	B. Gainer (ret.)	G. Li	Y. Pan	S. Yeomans
J. Chung	B. Graham (alum)	Z. Li	J. Patel (UBS)	J. Zemans (ret.)
W. Cook (ret.)	D. Horváth	B. Lyons	R. Phillips	L. Zhu (V.Chair)
A. DeCarufel (ret.)	S. Hsu	I. Macdonald (ret.)	E. Prisman	
Y. Deutsch	R. Imanirad	A. Madhok	S. Qu	
A. Devine	R. Irving (ret.)	M. Majzoubi	M. Rice	

Leaves and Sabbaticals:

	Darroch	L. Hillcoat	R. Shao	A. Sirsi	T. Wesson
--	---------	-------------	---------	----------	-----------

Non-Voting Members of Faculty Council Present

D. Barret	A. Gravel	N. Machado (guest)	T. Tolias
M. Bhutani	M. Hastings	Y. Massop	K. Welsby
C. Carder	L. Jackson	C. Mueller (guest)	F. Zandi
W. Craddock	B. Kha	L. Pan	C. Zhuang
L. De Wilde	R. Lenton (guest)	L. Philipps (guest)	
A. Ferreira	R. Lewin (guest)	N. Sutherland	
L. Ginsberg	M. Machado	S. Tenn	

Non-Voting Members of Faculty Council Absent:

W. Al-Hussaini	E. Farrell	L. Lakats	A. Narbe	R. Ross
P. Barter	J. Fayt	D. Lennox	Z. Necas	C. Sicoli
S. Calahan	A. Fisher	R. Lynn	C. Niederwanger	S. Sigel
E. Caprioni	S. Friedman	P. Macdonald	M. Orlan	T. Stubbs
M. Cernea	T. Gosse	D. Mak	C. Partland	C. Sullivan
J-M. Clark	P. Grant	К. Мара	B. Pasquali	A. Thomson
T. D'Agostino	A. Harris	R. Mayer	G. Pau	E. Vanderheyden
G. Deans	R. Hines	T. Medcof	J. Pinto	N. Verma
P. Deonandan	J. Jeyakumaran	G. Milavsky	P. Pivato	A. Welsh
P. Dillon	G. Klar	J. Morgan	J. Pokrajac	D. Woticky
K. Ellis	A. Konson	M. Morriello	S. Pulver	
D. Elsner	H. Koren-Cohen	R. Moy	E. Roman	

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair called the meeting to order at 12:01pm and read out the land acknowledgement. He drew attention to the EMBA program items on the consent agenda, noting that the courses were being approved retroactively due to when the information was received from our partner school. M. Kipping provided additional background information as to why the approvals were being conducted retroactively.

The Chair also indicated that the university has issued a call for nominations for honorific professorships and invited council members to submit any names for nomination to him or Vice-Chair L. Zhu. The deadline to submit to the University is March 4, 2022.

2. Dean's Remarks

The Dean highlighted a few points from his recorded remarks, noting that this is a particularly challenging term due to the uncertainty around the upcoming return to campus and the likelihood of faculty and students falling ill. He also highlighted that, like many of our faculty and

students, staff are also feeling the strain. He encouraged council members to check in on staff regularly to help create a supportive work environment.

3. PhD/GBC/UBS Updates

The student body representatives provided updates from their respective student groups, highlighting upcoming events as well as sentiments about the return to campus and course delivery modes.

4. Budget Consultation Session

President Rhonda Lenton and Provost Lisa Philipps joined the meeting at 12:30pm to present details of the upcoming budget and obtain feedback from council members. The slides are available as part of the agenda package and more details can be found on the SHARP website: https://www.yorku.ca/sharp/. After the presentation, discussion included topics such as raising the profile of the school globally, centralized services, the future of learning and various delivery models (hyflex, online, hybrid, etc.), and differentiation of business programming at York.

5. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was put forward by A. Joshi, seconded by C. Bell, and approved. The meeting adjourned at 1:32pm.

The following items were approved by consent:

- 1. EMBA Program Committee
 - a) Course Change
 - 1. EMBA 6620 4.0 Healthcare Strategy (credit value)
 - b) New Course Proposals
 - 1. EMBA 6255 2.0 Innovation in the Social-Digital Era
 - 2. EMBA 6285 2.0 Value Creation and Capture in Healthcare
 - 3. EMBA 6295 1.0 Healthcare's Global Marketplace
 - 4. EMBA 6325 2.0 Value Creation in Biopharmaceuticals
- 2. Minutes of the Last Meeting: 2021.12.10